Honest Emotion and Relationships

This week we were asked to find moments that showed clear and honest emotions and relationships between people. This assignment was tricky for me, and I found it pretty daunting. It’s difficult to have strangers open up to you, and many people I know are very camera aware, and I wanted to push my limits and photograph people I didnt know.

In Red square, the center of Western’s campus, there were two preachers talking loudly and saying very bigoted things, drawing a large crowd. Students were speaking out against them, and attempting to argue with them but the preachers were only intersted in creating conflict.

Preacher Shawn Holes, pictured above, travels from campus to campus preaching all along the way. In the photo you can see he is wearing a body cam, and he commonly uploads videos and photos of his “sermons” to his website.

Two students observe the crowd from afar

I found this to be an interesting way to document emotion and relationships, because the clear emotions are rather dark; anger, frustration, etc. I think that using this event as an opportuntiy to focus on honest emotion and relationships was ideal, as it pushed me to document not just what was happening, but how people were being affected. While I was very nervious about the nature of this assignment, I think focusing on honest emotions and relationships is what made these photos more impactful.

Holes walks away from a student asking him a question

Leave a comment